2017 makes: Gifts, part II

Today is a very big celebration for the Orthodox Church. We celebrate the Assumption of Virgin Mary into Heaven. Both of my daughters are named Maria, but also have another name so as not to confuse them…I have always liked two names and even before they were born, I knew that I wanted them to have two.There are many celebrations for the name Mary in Greece but the biggest of all is on the 15th of August.

Back to what this post is about….

The following picture shows a cushion  (wink) I made for an old lady who lives in Crete. I had wanted to make something for her for quite a while but since we only go there once a year and I always left it till late, never had the opportunity to make a little something. The quality of the photo is not very good and it lacks natural light, but that was just what I managed to take before I gave it to her. Since she is a very hospitable person and her house is always full of people, I thought this Lori Holt pattern would be the most appropriate and representative and I am glad she really liked it….

20170802_110140

The following …..cushion was made for a very special baby that was born on the very first day of spring!!! She was a premmie and her parents had to go back and forth to the hospital for 2 or 3 times a day and it was very sad that they couldn’t enjoy their first days all together as a family. Thankfully this situation didn’t last long and they were all united in their beautiful home. Her name has not been decided upon yet, her parents are still considering options, which made me swerve away from my initial thought… I was also thinking of making a bunting to accompany it but thought that could be done at a later time, when she will no longer be baby girl S.

20170801_132224

Yet another baby girl was born earlier in the year and she, too, was also very very special…. You see she was so lucky as to be born and immediately given away for adoption to a very loving couple that had been longing for her to come and complete their family.  She really and truly is a baby of the heart!!! Naturally, the first thing that came to my mind was the following bunting…..

20170522_094206

and also made the following …cushion with coordinating fabrics to decorate her room with. The pattern for this cushion was also taken from Sedef’s book (@downgrapevinelane), like the one that was shown in the previous post. The dresdens were hand-sewn together, and the quilting was also made by hand….

20170529_175241

I think I should put an end here, I will get back with more 2017 makes once I sort my photos out. After all, it is a way for me to keep track of what I am making…..

Love,

Antigone

 

Leave a Reply

